Creating an Accessible Sensor Info Storage System

I am trying to write a program that reads the data from multiple sensors and puts the values into an array, and then compares the "pattern"of the values in that array to a group of pre-programmed pattern possibilities and searches for a match. I am relatively new to Arduino and can't figure out how to pull off the storage and comparison of the pattern possibilities.

Thanks in advance!

Most accessible would be to put the data on an SD card. You can make or buy an SD adapter pretty cheap. SD will give you enormous capacity compared to on-chip memory of most any Arduino, it is the #1 way to log mass data on Arduinos -- the card can be read by a PC or tablet/phone with SD slot.

Without the SD, you can store a good bit of constant (no change) data in flash memory and your captured data in RAM and compare the two.

How many bytes of pre-programmed and read data you need to keep will affect what choices you have.

If your data is all ON/OFF then store and compare it as packed bits in unsigned integers.

Aha, so if I used an SD card how would I program the Arduino to search through it to attempt to find a match fro the values currently being read? The sensor consists of 6 smaller sensors, and the data is received into an array of the six sensor values (ON/OFF). I would like the Arduino to then compare those 6 values to the stored possible patterns (approximately 10 or so such possibilities), and alert me if the current sensor readings match any of the possibilities. Thanks for your help

jackmav: