Creating an Audit Trail/Log for Sketch Access and Changes

Hi All,
I wondered if anyone knows of a way that will allow the generation of an audit trail as a sketch is accessed and edited?
It would be great if access to the sketch could be restricted via a password and then a login and time stamp generated each time the code was accessed. Logging of any changes made to the code would be a massive benefit, but I assume this would then require some complex crossover between the audit creation and the actual editing of the code?
I am aware that this will probably require execution in a third party manner and is counter intuitive to the open source nature of the arduino IDE.
Any pointers in the right direction would be massively appreciated!

Background:
I am a PhD student trying to create automatically generated records, in accordance with FDA and EMA regulations, for an automated arduino controlled processing system used for medical research.

There are several “version control” systems used by professional and hobby programmers. GIT seems to be the most popular at the moment.

I don’t use it myself and I don’t think it (or any of the others) provide all of the features you have in mind - in particular I am not aware of any system that restricts access to code.

In general these systems require you to “do something” when you have got to a stage where you want to save the current version of your system.

Most Operating Systems apply an ownership system to files so that others cannot access your work.

For my own purposes I wrote a simple Python program that automatically makes an archive copy of the code that is uploaded to an Arduino and places in the program code a Serial.print() statement with the name of the archive copy so that by running the Arduino program I can identify the code that created it.

…R