CRLF RS232 in Arduino

Morning everyone,

Well, actually i’m a newbie in Arduino, I just know a bit of programming in Arduino,
But somehow i get a complicated project using Arduino from my school, (Which i think it should be easy in the first time, because it just using one input and one output)
But somehow, what i deal is different from what i think, so i really need your help guys.

What i need to do is connecting Arduino to a solar controller device using RS232. Then i should transfer the data i was obtained from Solar Controler to Server using ethernet. I use database mySqL in my server. And actually, i’ve done the part of database and ethernet things. However, i still stuck in the RS232 things. Because i don’t know a thing about serial communication and have no experience in this.

I have Arduino uno with shield ethernet from lextronic and a cable RS232 DB 9 male to male.
The protocol of communication in Solar Controler run like this:
" To retrieve the data the PC must send F
Response of the SCD (Solar Controler): In this sequence the data will be returned as ASCII signs.
For testing purposes you can use the HyperTerminal Program.
R: current voltage; current power; current temperature; minimum voltage; maximum voltage; minimum power; maximum power; CRLF
To delete the minim
um/maximum data the PC must send L"

What i’ve done is try to connect the device with my laptop and communicate using hyperterminal program by sending F (When i type F and enter) it would answer with the data.
So what i think is, i just need to send or serial.write(“F”) in arduino then receive the data by using serial.read(), But it’s not work,
this is the last code i made

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial mySerial(3,5); // RX, TX

void setup()  
{
  // Open serial communications and wait for port to open:
  Serial.begin(1200);
  while (!Serial) {
    ; // wait for serial port to connect. Needed for Leonardo only
  }

Serial.println("Connected");