crossbar switch?

Hi, I am a real newbie in HW. I started visiting this website and received my first Arduino board a couple of weeks back.

After completing a few tutorials I am now ready for my first project. Basically, I am trying to hack a computer keyboard to simulate certain key presses. I’ve torn a keyboard up and found a tiny board inside. There are a total of 24 pins on the board, 12 on the left and the other 12 on the right. With the keyboard cable plugged into a PC, I can simulate keypresses by connecting a pin from the left side to a pin on the right with a wire. For example, by connecting left pin #3 and right pin #9 the ‘a’ shows up on the PC screen.

What I am looking for is an IC that allows me to programmablely connect pins together. Some google searches led me to something called ‘crossbar switch’. Can anyboard tell me if this is it? I would appreciate if you can also share some information on how to use it too (a link to a sample project would be great).

You can use analogue multiplexers like this:-
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Learning/4051

As Grumpy suggests you can use the two 4051 multiplexor to create a 8 by 8 matrix to control the switches, or if you need more you could create a 16 by 16 matrix with the 4067 IC.

One very important thing to have in mind is that you can only simulate the pressing of one key at a time this way. So things like CTRL + key or Shift + key is not possible.

Thanks for replying.

I am not sure if a multiplexor will work for my project. My understanding is that multiplexor can output signals, but what I am trying to achieve is to use a matrix type device that can physically connect different pins, in a controllable fashion by Arduino. There are voltage differences between the left and right pins, so once they are physically connected, current will flow, therefore keystrokes will be simulated.

To use MOSFET is not practical as there are 12x11 combinations, meaning I need 132 MOSFETs.