Cumulative Countdown Timer

I am new to arduino and I am trying to make a cumulative countdown timer using my Arduino Uno to shut off a relay when the timer is up. I am able to get the relay working using the blinking LED code found online.

I want to use a push button so that every time it is pushed it will add 5sec to the countdown timer.

Like I said I am new to this but I have a little understating. Any help or insight would be a great help.

Thanks

Any of your code you care to post would be an even greater help.

The code is just a simple one and im not sure if it will even work for what I am trying to do. But I can turn the relay on and off with the 5V, GND and #13 pin. Here is the code.

int ledPin = 13; // LED connected to digital pin 13

void setup() { pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // sets the digital pin as output }

void loop() { digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); // sets the LED on delay(100000); // waits for a second digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); // sets the LED off delay(100000); // waits for a second }

every time it is pushed it will add 5sec to the countdown timer

There is no countdown timer in your code

I know I have no clue how to add it to the code or the back bone of the timer. Basically I need help creating the code from scratch.

The blink without delay example is great introduction to handling time and timers.

delay(100000);                  // waits for a second

That's a bit longer than a second.

Rob

Tylmcnaney: Like I said I am new to this but I have a little understating. Any help or insight would be a great help.

I know what it is to be in the beginning, it sucks for some time.

Ok, first. Your delay is a bit long, and you should learn what these functions do by going to Reference page on the main site. Delay likes milliseconds, so your delay is now 100 secs.