Current drawn from USB C port to Arduino board

Hey guys,

I am new to the electronics world and currently following this tutorial by Jeremy Blum.

There’s a few things that are confusing me.

First of all, I tested connecting an LED directly to the 5V and GND pins on the Arduino board in order to test the amperage reading with a multimeter and learn why resistors are necessary. I know you’re not meant to do this, but Jeremy said it would be fine for a short period of time. But as soon as I plugged the Arduino into my computer’s USB C port (via an adapter) the LED burnt out, and I didn’t even get a chance to hook up the multimeter.

I then attempted the same circuit but included a 1000 Ohm resister this time. This worked fine and gave me a medium-lit LED, but when attempting to measure the amperage on my multimeter I found the value started really high and then continuously lowered until around 300mA (yes, you heard me correctly). Connecting the multimeter to the circuit also seemed to drain all power from the Arduino as both onboard LEDs and my external LED turned off while the reading was taking place.

All of this has now lead me to two ideas which are probably completely wrong, but that’s where you guys come in! :slight_smile:

Here goes:

• My multimeter is causing more current to be drawn through the Arduino, and is hence not giving me an accurate reading of the amount of current that was flowing before connecting it up.
  • My 20V/5A USB C port is somehow providing too much current which is why the LED burnt out straight away.

Lastly, I am confused about the calculation that Jeremy does in this video to determine how many Ohms of resistance is required to run the LED at 20mA. This is his calculation:

V = IR
R = V/I
R = 3V/20mA (3 out of 5 volts because 2 volts drop over the LED)
R = 150 ohms.