Custom Automotive HVAC System

Hello To ALL

I’m new to ardunio and this forum. So far I love messing around with the ardunio and the more I do the more my mind goes crazy with possibilities.

A quick background I own a shop that works on restoring and customizing old cars. My personal skill background is in car audio and electrical. I got this from my days working at Circuit City car audio install department. I have done a lot of Audio and Remote Start system installs. From this I have a pretty good understanding of electrical systems in a car. My computer skills are moderate but my programming is very minimal. I am eager to learn and enjoy putting the energy into figuring things out. My bow hunting skills are pretty good too

What I need is just to be pointed in the right direction. I hope this is the right place

The Project:

I have a 1975 Grand Prix I am customizing I want to control all of the electrical components on the car with a central control unit like a cool switch panel and/or a android based tablet. The fist challenge is the HVAC (heater and air conditioning). I have to figure this out in order to finish metal work on the firewall. My plan is to eliminate the original heater box and control due to the fact they use cable to control the flapper doors for Mode (defrost, Vent, etc) Temp, and Air Inlet. I have a donor Vehicle a 1989 Chevy Truck that uses a Digital Heater & A/C control unit and electrical a motors on the flapper doors. I’m going to retrofit the truck HVAC System into the Grand Prix. The truck is my daily driver and I can use it to test and mock up before I finalize the design.

If anyone could give me any insight to help with this project, things I need to learn, or smaller project to put together to help me understand more I would be very appreciative. Maybe someone has done something like this and I can learn from what they did.