Custom Ethernet Shield

Hi, all.

[All links in the next post]

I am designing an Ethernet shield based on the ENC28J60 3.3V chip. It will be very similar to Nuelectronics' EtherShield, but with through-hole components instead of surface mounted ones.

I am a total beginner in this field; the logic part of electronics I know, but I have no knowledge or experience with the electrics (is that a word) (EMI, noise, heat and other stuff like that) so all tips are appreciated! :D

I have some specific questions:

• ATM I am using Arduino's 3V3 pin as power source for the ENC28J60 and it seems to be working alright with my breadboard wired circuit, but I have only tested with USB power. (I also doesn't have a multimeter to measure voltage and current levels.) Nuelectronics design uses a separate power regulator to convert Arduino's 5V to 3.3V and I am wondering if that might be a better solution. In the latter case: should the regulator get its power from the 5V or Vin pin?
  • Right now I have merely connected the ENC28J60's reset input to Arduino's reset pin and it works in my test circuit. But is it the way you are supposed to do it?
  • Should I have a power (3.3V) plane to complement the ground plane (on opposite sides) or is it better with two ground planes (one on each side)?
  • I have understood that there should be a capacitor connecting power and ground to reduce noise from the components, but how do I calculate the correct value? Nuelectronics design uses four 100nF capacitors in parallell between 3.3V and ground which I don't understand.

If there is anything else I have forgotten or done in a strange way, feel free to point it out!

[Links that should have been in the previous post:]

Nuelectronics’ EtherShield, original schema.

My design as of now: schema, PCB.

Interesting. Now, figure out a way to make it single-sided, and then I'll be in business! :P