Custom LED blink with 3 bottons & LCD / help a newbie

Hi
I got an arduino mega 2568 as a gift
I have no programming knowledge
For the past week i tried to make something interesting with my arduino

I want to make a led to blink 1/min , 2/min, 3/min, 4/min , 5min & blink now (3’d button)

The buttons:

• button 1 and 2 selects the blink 1/min , 2/min, 3/min, 4/min , 5min (EDIT: blink [dosent mather how long] once per min … twice a minute …etc)
  • button 3 blinks when pushed and continues the blink 1/min , 2/min, 3/min, 4/min , 5min where he left

The LCD: prints = 1/min , 2/min, 3/min, 4/min , 5min and BLINK NOW

So …i need help with this because i don’t have any programming knowledge and it would take me another 2 weeks to finish this … by then i will hate everything about arduino, and i don’t want that to happen.

The past week i learned a lot, the basics of programming, how to do your pcb and how to solder . Its been a productive week … but this code kills me, every day i wake up and try to find something that i can modify to do what i want … nothing … i don’t even know what to search …

so this is what i managed for the first time … with some help from friends before they stop answering my phone calls :smiley:

EDIT: this is only the starting part of the code
the last part dosent work …so no point of posting it

some code for arduino
(one of many)

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(13,12,11,10,9,8);

// this constant won't change:

int ledPin = 7;       // the pin that the LED is attached to
int  buttonA = A1;    // the pin that the pushbutton is attached to
int  buttonAval = 0;
int  buttonB = A2;    // the pin that the pushbutton is attached to
int  buttonBval = 0;
int  buttonC = A3;    // the pin that the pushbutton is attached to
int  buttonCval = 0;

// Variables will change:
//int buttonState      = 0;     // current state of the button
//int lastButtonState  = 0;     // previous state of the button