CWA's Project - Kart DAQ

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, I am also rather new to programming and electronics. I thought I'd post up a bit about myself and my (first ever) Arduino project plans, as I'd appreciate any general guidance available and a sharing of similar experiences with people. I also have some specific questions which I'd be very grateful to hear people's thoughts on.

I have basic electrical circuit/component knowledge from a physics A-level, I have recently read a load of Sparkfun tutorials online, and I have also recently purchased an Arduino Uno as part of 'the Franzis Arduino Tutorial Kit', which I have been using to get into programming.

These efforts are all with the aim of gaining enough knowledge to build a DAQ system for a kart, ideally within a few months or so. I would like to record various types of data with my system; accelerations, rates of rotation, GPS, steering wheel/pedal positions etc, but I am primarily interested in recording tyre temperatures. Plug and play DAQ options on the market to suit my needs could see total system costs reaching £1000+. Whilst I could afford this, I would rather use this situation as a chance to learn programming - something I've always wanted to do, and perhaps save myself some money along the way.

Anyway, my first question is not about programming, it is about hardware. I wonder if anyone has any experience with the Melexis MLX90614 non-contact IR temperature sensor? - Wiring and Test | Using Melexis MLX90614 Non-Contact Sensors | Adafruit Learning System. I have one on order, and doubt I will struggle to wire it up to my Arduino, but this statement from the previous link troubles me: "The MLX90614 has a fixed I2C address, you can only connect one sensor per microcontroller!".