Cyclic water pressure testing of rubber hose!

Hi All :)

I am new to the Arduino scene and also learning C.

I have a work related project that if possible/feasible I would like to try and build but before I go off in the wrong direction I would like to get an honest view and guidance from you guys.

I have a rubber hose section 500mm long x 25 mm diameter, that has to be inflated with water to 10bar held for 30 seconds and then the pressure released and the cycle repeated a further 99 times.

I already have a pump (60bar max)

Pressure transducer: This One

12v Solenoid valve: This One

The run sequence would be I think something like this:

Energies solenoid valve (open) ...Start pump (primes the rubber hose) ...after 5 seconds de-energise the solenoid valve ...Pressure builds in the system to 10bar and the pump is stopped ...holds for 30 seconds (pressure decay after pump is stopped due to rubber expansion is not important) ... after 30 seconds energies the solenoid valve (Opens to vent the pressure and then prime the system again) and start the above sequence for a further 99 times.

I know the above is very simplistic view.

Thank you in advance for views and help.

Mac :)

What kind of pump can hold pressure while it is stopped?

why not design the system with a recirculating pump and pressure regulator. Add a solenoid valve to release the pressurized water to the hose, then close that solenoid valve and let the system set for your 30 seconds.

Add a second solenoid valve to release the hose pressure, then close. Start cycle over again.

Your pump doesn't have to stop and start all the time.

Paul

Hi Paul

Thank you for your reply it is greatly appreciated and a perfect reason why I ask questions. :)

I did not think about continually running the pump via another solenoid valve (switching), I had the pump running through a pressure sustaining valve hence build the pressure and stop the pump.