Cycling through cascaded Loops???

Good day all.

I have been here before and I have had some great success, even if it has taken some time. I am still a newbie, but I am working very hard at learning, when my day job doesn’t get in the way. My issue now is that I have taken the advice of those who have responded, great though it was, I am once again stuck. The following is a set of instructions that I need to look at and base a decision on a counter to determine which loop to run through. As you can see I am using a set of cascade “if” statements. I am stuck on two things:
1 - Is my syntax for the cascading “if” statements correct?
2 - I can’t seem to get the follow-on “voids” to run properly based on the count.
3 - I appears to be also continuously running through the start, gate and abort cycle, but does not allow the “start” loop to cylce for the requisite 5350 millis (5.35 sec).

After several hours of debugging if is now late here in Canada. I am hoping that someone can take a look at the code and tell me if I am making simple mistakes and what that may be? Again, a newbie here and I am truely am trying to learn. Any advice or constructive comments would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Mike

// Definition of variables that change

int outPin = 1;			      // communication line to the MP3 Trigger
int startpbVal = 0;                   // variable for reading the Start PB state
int startpbState = 0;                 // variable for holding the start PB state 
int gateupVal = 0;                    // variable for reading the Start PB state
int gateupState = 0;                  // variable for holding the start PB state 
volatile int startpbcount = 0;        // initialize start counter at 0
volatile int gateupcount = 0;         // initialize gate up counter at 0
unsigned long startPBtimer;	      // this holds the time from when the startPB was first pushed

// Pin assignments
const int startpbPin = 2;                   // Start pushbutton