DAC is eating my signal >:(

Well, I’m kind of new to working with I2C, so I’m experimenting.

I’ve got both a MAX521 DAC and a TC74A2 temperature sensor on the I2C bus. These two have different addresses (B0101000 for the DAC and B1001010 for the temperature sensor), yet for some reason the DAC seems to eat my I2C commands to the Temperature sensor!

When both are connected to the I2C bus (in parallel), and I send a command to the DAC, it responds correctly, but when I send a command to the TC74A2, it does not.

The TC74A2 responds correctly if I remove both +5V AND ground from the DAC (not if I leave ground connected though).

Could it be a power issue? Do I need stronger pullups than supplied internally through the Wire library?

I don’t think it’s the code, but here it is if you want to see it:

#include <MAXDAC.h>
#include <Wire.h>

int temperature;

#define address 0x4A

maxdac dac(B0101000);

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Wire.begin();
}

void loop() {
//BEGIN DAC PART
  for (int i=0; i<256; i++) {
    dac.write(1, i);
    delay(20);
  }
//END DAC PART
//BEGIN TEMPERATURE SENSOR PART
  Wire.beginTransmission(address);
  //start the transmission with the TC74A2

Wire.send(0x00);

Wire.requestFrom(address, 1);
    temperature = Wire.receive();
    Serial.println(temperature);
    Serial.print("And in Fahrenheit: ");
    Serial.println((temperature*1.8)+32);
  Serial.println("Starting over again");
  Wire.endTransmission();
//END TEMPERATURE SENSOR PART
  delay(1000);
}

PS: I’ve tried leaving the MAXDAC library in (and not using it) to test if that was conflicting, but the TC74A2 still works fine if the DAC isn’t powered.

Do I need stronger pullups than supplied internally through the Wire library?

Yes you need 4K7 pullups.

For the I2C bus the pullup resistance is determined by communication frequency and the capacitance on the bus. At 100KHz and only two devices on the bus the internal pullup should work. For 400KHz operation it probably won't.