Daily silent alarm sketch - alarm not activating as expected

I’m a noob with a fairly short sketch. I can’t actually program and am sort of figuring it out as I go by copying and pasting other people’s code. I’m trying to make a silent alarm that just flashes a light at 2100 hrs every evening and carries on until I push a button. I’m using the Time and TimeAlarms libraries to do this and when the alarm goes off it’s meant to set alarmState to 1 until I press my button but the alarm doesn’t seem to change the alarmState which stays 0 the whole time.

//This sketch triggers daily alarms at 2100 hrs.

#include <Time.h>
  #include <TimeAlarms.h>

int buttonPin = 8;
  int ledPin = 7;

int buttonState = 0;
  int alarmState = 0;

// the setup function runs once when you press reset or power the board
  void setup()
  {
   setTime(20,59,59,0,0,0); // set time to 20:59:59
   // create the alarms 
   Alarm.alarmRepeat(21,0,0, LithiumAlarm);  // 2100 hrs every day
    // initialize ledPin as an output and buttonPin as an input
    pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
    pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
    Serial.begin(9600);      // open the serial port at 9600 bps:   
  }

// functions to be called when an alarm triggers:
  void LithiumAlarm(){
    alarmState = 1;
  }

// the loop function runs over and over again forever
  void loop() {
    if (alarmState==1) {
    digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);   // turn the LED on (HIGH is the voltage level)
    delay(1000);                       // wait for a second
    digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);    // turn the LED off by making the voltage LOW
    delay(1000);                       // wait for a second
    if (digitalRead(buttonPin) == LOW) {
      alarmState = 0;
    }
  } 
  Serial.print(alarmState);
  delay(1000);
  }

Thanks for any help.

volatile int alarmState = 0;

use Alarm.delay() instead of delay().

Thanks. Unfortunately nothing changes after replacing int alarmState = 0; with volatile int alarmState = 0;. The value remains at zero.