Data sending and receiving through serial port

Hi guys, I’m working with triggering stuff through PHP and the serial class. It’s working well but I’m wonder how I can return data back to the php script. So basically i’d like to write a letter to arduino, through serial to the script to trigger a something then have the arduino return data back. is this possible? I’d also like to be able to turn the switch off and first check the status of that before sending the signal to fire it. I just need to know how to retrieve data with PHP from the arduino. Thanks.

I'm not sure what you write.
You use a PHP webpage, and you use the Serial library for commands and so ?

I'm new to this, but you can request (a GET request) a file from the Arduino webserver. For example request data.txt.
Instead of retrieving that from the SD card, the Arduino detects "data.txt" and generates on the fly that file (or actually a fake file) and fills it with data.
In the PHP script you have to extract the data from the file.

There must be other ways, since I'm just learning this.
I was trying to make an HTML5 live update code of Arduino webserver, but it is not working yet.

So basically i'd like to write a letter to arduino, through serial to the script to trigger a something then have the arduino return data back. is this possible?

Depends on what operating system you are using. Linux or a variation? Yes. Windows? No.

The Arduino can write data to the serial port. The PHP serial class, due to Microsoft's bungling, can not read from the serial port on Windows. Linus Torvold and company didn't make the same mistakes.

Krodal, I’d love to see what you get working. Basically what I’d like to do is create a php function that would essentially ping the arduino to check the state of a toggle switch before continuing. I can’t seem to find any guidance on how to retrieve the information from the arduino. And yes using MAC and OSX