DataFlash and Buffers

Newbie here, and not an electronics whiz, either, so please bear with me!

I’ve got an Arduino paired up with an Atmel DataFlash chip from SparkFun and wish to toggle from buffer 1 to buffer 2 to allow for the slight delay in writing the buffer contents to the assigned page. I noticed a post back in 2008 where someone had a problem with buffer 2 not working, and I’m wondering if this is a common hardware problem or if there’s a simple software command that I’m not implementing.

for (int p=0; p<=9; p=p+2)              // 10 pages to store 2560 numbers (4095 pages will hold 2M numbers)
  {
    for (int i=0; i<=183; i=i+2)        
    {
      frontPosition = analogRead(frontPotPin)/4;    // read position data
      dflash.Buffer_Write_Byte(1,i,frontPosition);   //write position value to buffer #1 address i 
    }
    dflash.Buffer_To_Page(1,p);          //write buffer 1 contents to page "p"

for (int i=0; i<=183; i=i+2)         
    {
      frontPosition = analogRead(frontPotPin)/4;    // read position data
      dflash.Buffer_Write_Byte(2,i,frontPosition);   //write position value to buffer #2 address i 
    }
    dflash.Buffer_To_Page(2,p+1);          //write buffer 2 contents to page "p"
  }

I’ve been running this routine within my main program with success for buffer 1, but I’m not succeeding in writing nor reading to or from buffer 2 (different code for reading the DataFlash chip).

Anyone got time to give a helping hand?

Hi, this (write to buffer 2 while buffer 1 is busy) can't work.

From the datasheet section "7.2 Buffer to Main Memory Page Program with Built-in Erase" :

Both the erase and the programming of the page are internally self-timed and should take place in a maximum time of tEP. During this time, the status register and the RDY/BUSY pin will indicate that the part is busy.

While the dataflash is busy shuffling the data from buffer 1 into the flashrom it can do nothing else.

Eberhard