Datalogger with GPS and temperature for a high altitude balloon

Hello, I am a high school student and this is my first ever Arduino project (aside from playing with LEDs). What I am attempting to do is create a data logger which records the location, altitude, speed and temperature. I might also include a pressure sensor. The datalogger will be placed in a payload box and is predicted to reach 30Km (~100,000ft) above sea level.

What I have with me right now is an adafruit datalogger shield on an Arduino UNO, the aadafruit ultimate GPS board, and a tmp36 temperature sensor. The problem I have is that I have no clue on how to integrate these together. If someone could help me with the code or guide me to resources where I can figure it out, I will then forever be indebted to you.

Interesting project and pretty ambitious for a first project. Start by Googling something like "Arduino weather balloon gps" or arduino high altitude balloon". It's been done before so you should find some useful ideas.

Plus Adafruit provide tutorials for both of those boards with even more ideas in them plus another one on using the temperature sensor.

When you've made a reasonable start on the code we can help you to get it working properly.

Steve

The NeoGPS library has an example for logging to the SD card. See NMEASDlog.ino.

NeoGPS is smaller, faster, more accurate and more reliable than all other GPS libraries. Even if you don't use it, there are lots of tips on the Troubleshooting page. Be sure to read about choosing a serial port for the GPS device. That's especially important.

NeoGPS is available from the Arduino IDE Library Manager, under the menu Sketch -> Include Library -> Manage Libraries.

Logging the GPS to an SD card can be done very simply. Every character that comes in on the Serial port can be written to the SD card.