Datalogging (5Hz) + displaying on 18 4digits 7-segments displays

Hi guys,

In my everlasting datalogging & arduino learning project, I now want to display the logged values to some 7-digit displays.

The heart of the system would be an arduino MEGA acquiring some analog signals through it's internal ADC + some other digital values through a MUX/ADC shield + frequency counting a TTL signal (up to 3kHz).

Now, in between acquiring and logging/sending the values to serial, I'd like to display them on 4-digits 7-segment displays and maybe a 16x2 LCD.

So to sum it up :

[u]Acquisition (5Hz max) :[/u] - 8 analog values - 8 digital values (through a thermocouple shield) - 3 frequency counters (1 up to 50Hz, 1 up to 100Hz, 1 up to 3kHz)

[u]Displaying :[/u] - (19x) 4-digits 7-segments displays - 16*2 LCD display

Now, I guess I'd need some displays with a serial backpack or something to that effect. I'm still learning so forgive the approximations...

Now, I tried with success a simple 16*2 LCD and the library is very simple to use. I'm guessing there are some equivalent libraries to control several 7-segments displays on the same line or so but wouldn't 19 displays and possibly an LCD be too much for the MEGA to compute? I know libraries can be sometimes a bit heavy to process but I definitely don't have the skills (for now!) to go deeper and code it myself...

Do you think a MEGA would have the firepower to do it all at the same time?

Have you got any suggestions on what HW / SW to use?

Thanks for the help!

Marc

This sounds rather like a dog-chasing-car situation...

The Mega's firepower may be an issue, but you might consider your own firepower first, and how good you are going to be at reading 95 4-digit numbers every second.

Hi Nick,

Indeed, that's a lot for one man but in this case it's mostly meant to be a "public" display, not a control mean for a single person.

Marc