Datalogging, changing sampling frequency.

Hello everyone,

I built a arduino who logs data from a acceleroeter to a micro sd card, the sampling frequency I want to achive is about 200 Hz minimun, I'd like it to be as constant as posible, that means 0.005 seconds between samples, but every 50 samples or so, I get a delay of 0.006 seconds between samples... and then each 2040 samples or so, I get a 0.015 second, sometimes even 0.150 second between samples... then if I want to plot my samples they are not equally spaced in the time axis, and that's what I look for, equally spaced data... I think it could be the sd card maybe?

Then my question is, can you explain what is happening? why is that happenig? and Do you know something I can do to avoid or correct those variations in the time while collecting data, or some way I can get equally spaced data?. Sorry if I didn't explain myself clearly, this is my first time on a forum ever :confused:

Could you post some of your code to review?

edsnow: Hello everyone,

I built a arduino who logs data from a acceleroeter to a micro sd card, the sampling frequency I want to achive is about 200 Hz minimun, I'd like it to be as constant as posible, that means 0.005 seconds between samples, but every 50 samples or so, I get a delay of 0.006 seconds between samples... and then each 2040 samples or so, I get a 0.015 second, sometimes even 0.150 second between samples... then if I want to plot my samples they are not equally spaced in the time axis, and that's what I look for, equally spaced data... I think it could be the sd card maybe?

Then my question is, can you explain what is happening? why is that happenig? and Do you know something I can do to avoid or correct those variations in the time while collecting data, or some way I can get equally spaced data?. Sorry if I didn't explain myself clearly, this is my first time on a forum ever :confused:

Simplest explanation: (pure ass guess, because you did not post your code!)