Daw controller

Hey whats up guys!

Im an audio engineer and would like to build some controllers to operate my daw... My intention is to create something to control things such as volume, pan, equalizer parameters, etc. The project would have basicaly potentiometers or enconders... And few push buttons.

My First question is... Would be a Good choice to use enconders is this project? They Will let me to recall the project saved and move the controls at the exactly point it was saved?

Also i would like to understand how big this controller could be. My intention is to create a big controllers with something around 100 encoderns. Is it possible to do this with Arduino one? Is there expantions to do this or some other Arduino model would be a better choice?

Insted of create a big controller can i build some diferent controllers and use them togheter? What would be the best way to do this?

Hope to get some tips and suggetions to start this project.

Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

Rotary encoders need at least 2 input pins, and sometimes more if they have a button, LED or other extra features.

I do not believe any Arduino compatible board offers 200 pins, so you'll almost certainly need to use multiple boards or other extra hardware to connect so many encoders.

Thanks Paul,

Please, Tell me... How many digital inputs can i conect to Arduino? I dont wanna use the encoders buttons or LEDs... Its Rotary only. Is there any expantions available to get more inputs? Or you recommend to get a bigger arduino model?

Is there any limitation to use multiple boards connected to the computer at once? I gonna need many usb ports... They all gonna work togheter?

Thanks

They Will let me to recall the project saved and move the controls at the exactly point it was saved?

Will they? If I am understanding correctly they will not.

Please, Tell me... How many digital inputs can i conect to Arduino?