Dc motor control

Hello.

I'm quite new in learning Arduino and writing a sketch. So forgive me as I might not use the right terms as I have still not learned them. But I will do my best to explain.

I have made my own little project converting a RC car with broken IR remote control. Instead I have connected a HC-06 Bluetooth module to an Arduino Micro to the hardware serial ports. After following several tutorials I did manage to get it to work so I can now control the motor turning direction and the speed from an app on my cell phone. So far so good. But I still miss a bit of knowledge to make if work as I like to but I have now unsuccessful searched the Internet for answers.

I can get the the car to move by sending a 1 or 2 from my phone to the Arduino using reading the serial1 input and using the if code. The result is that the motors start running but the motor never stop. So I have searched to find a solution to get the motor to stop running but have not found it. My idea is that the motor should stop running if there is not stored a 1 or 2 in the buffer. But how do I write the code, if it is possible at all? If its not possible to do it this way how would you then do it?

Edit: Sketch added if anyone would like to see it.

// connect BT module TX to Arduino micro
// connect BT module RX to Arduino micro via a voltage divider
// connect BT Vcc to 5V, GND to GND
// connect motor controller pins to Arduino digital pins

// motor A, drive
int enA = 10;
int in1 = 11;
int in2 = 12;

//Motor B, steering
int enB = 4;
int in3 = 5;
int in4 = 6;

// stores incoming character from cell phone in the buffer
char a;

void setup()
{
  // set all the motor control pins to outputs
  pinMode(enA, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(enB, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in4, OUTPUT);
  // set the data rate for the Serial1 port
  Serial1.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  if (Serial1.available())
    // if number arrived in from serial1...