Dc motor controller help

Hey so I’m working on a project that includes 5 12v 2.7amp dc motors, and a servo. The robot is tank steering. There are two motors on either side of the drivetrain. I need to be able to control the speed and rotational direction of those four motors, and the two sides need to work independently of each other. The 5th motor is to pull a rope, so the speed doesn’t really matter, I just need to be able to turn it on and off. And the servo I need to be able to control the speed and direction of as well. I’m a beginner to this stuff so I have no idea what I’m doing. I’m using a arduino uno. I need to know everything I need in order to make this functional, I also need to know how it all goes together. Thanks!

Are you really sure you need to control the motor speed? If so, you need to always KNOW what that speed is and to do that you need some type of sensor t tell your Arduino the speed of each motor.
Perhaps you just need to be able to adjust the speed and really don't care what the actual RPM is.
Paul

Yes, I need to be Able to control the speed. I’ve been reading a lot about motor controllers and they seem to all control the speed using pwm signals, I haven’t seen anything talking about needing sensors. I was also struggling to find a motor controller that was able to handle two 2.7 amp motors at once. I was planning to buy three motor controllers to power all 5 motors. And you’re right I don’t need to know the speed or the rpms, it’s jsut for the drive train.

jax137:
Yes, I need to be Able to control the speed. I’ve been reading a lot about motor controllers and they seem to all control the speed using pwm signals, I haven’t seen anything talking about needing sensors. I was also struggling to find a motor controller that was able to handle two 2.7 amp motors at once. I was planning to buy three motor controllers to power all 5 motors. And you’re right I don’t need to know the speed or the rpms, it’s jsut for the drive train.