Dc motor directions

Hi, I am really new to all of this.

I am try to figure out how to control the direction of a small dc motor (15mm) using the arduino mini and h-bridge. I was wondering if it was possible to program the mini to automatically control the speed as well as direction of the motor? For example have the motor rotate 180 degrees clockwise then reverse counter-clockwise 180 degrees and repeat that sequence under a slow rate of speed until shut off? And if so what things would I need to go the the programming process as well as how would I go about connecting an external power source?

Thank you very much in advance for any advice!

You're going to need some sort of feedback mechanism to tell the controller when the motor has reached 180 degrees. Is the motor geared at all? A simple free-running DC motor without gearing will be very difficult to stop and reverse at precisely 180 degree intervals.

Using PWM to control the motor speed only works for a loaded motor doing many turns. You can't control a DC motor to half a turn without lots of gearing.

With a decent DC motor that exhibits zero magnetic cogging and a hi resolution encoder you can use PWM routines to move the motor spindle through an arbitrary angle and stop - down to 1 or 2 degrees anyway.

With a more typical motor you will still need an encoder on the motor spindle, but the motor must be attached to a gearbox. A gearbox will of course give more torque

A stepper motor may be more suitable for this application?

You sounds a little like you are starting your question in the middle of the problem... what is it that you are actually trying to do?

tomhow: With a decent DC motor that exhibits zero magnetic cogging and a hi resolution encoder you can use PWM routines to move the motor spindle through an arbitrary angle and stop - down to 1 or 2 degrees anyway.

Interesting ? and how does that work, considering the limitations that must be presented by the commutator assembly