DC motor & internal Battery controlled by PNP transitor and digital PIN

Hello to everybody.

I would like to control a DC motor with internal Battery with my Arduino Nano using a digital PIN and a PNP Transistor. Unfortunately the motor does not move.

Attached the sketch the of configuration I prepared which is NOT working.

I am using a PNP BC557 - E211 Transistor.

Can somebody help me to fix it? Please be flexible and tolerant as I am just a beginner :slight_smile:

I tried the following setup and it worked:

Unfortunately I cannot use this configuration on my set up as the motor and the battery are already closed inside an housing which has been already sealed, so I have only access to the cables, as shown in the image attached.

Thank you so much in advance for your help and support!

alex :slight_smile:

You have no power to the Nano so I'm not suprised it's not working

Hello, thank you for the reply. The arduno Nano is connected through USB to the laptop and is ON. Leds are blinking correctly, so for sur the NANO is power ON.

Connect the grounds. Edit: and something about a something across the motor. Flyback something. OK, I can't remember what is supposed to be put across the motor leads. Another edit: Might be a flyback diode.

Why a <100mA signal transistor for a motor. Is it tiny?
Why PNP.
Why collector to positive. Emitter goes to positive for PNP.

PNP is posible, but then VCC has to be shared. Not ground.
The motor needs a diode across if you want the transisor to live.
The base resistor value is too high. If the transistor is not saturated, it will overheat and pop it’s top.
Try 220ohm.
Leo…

Hello Vinceherman,

thank you for the comment. The motor is connected to a battery and there is a + and - pole,

Shall I connect the GND to the - Pole of the battery? I think it will not work. oder?

Hello Wava,