DC motor with MOSFET circuit overheating

Hi everyone,

I’m quite new with Arduino and a bit rusty on my electronics as well.

I was asked to drive a DC motor with Arduino, and since the motor draws up to 4.7amps I’ve decided to create a circuit which uses a MOSFET, so to have the possibility to affect the speed.

The problem that I’m having is that the circuit overheats as soon as the motor has some load, so much that the resistor R2 burns. (this however avoids the MOSFET from overheating).

The circuit is attached and the following are the specs for the components:

Any suggestions on what I’m getting wrong?
Any help would be very appreciated.

Thanks

Inlining OPs image. See this image guide.
c92551857145929e21c3f615780af547922d831e.png

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

What is the watt / power rating of the R1?

P= IIR= 4.7 * 4.7 * 2.04 = 45.06Watts

Why do you need it, use a fuse instead.

Can you post a picture of your project so we can see your component layout.

Thanks… Tom… :slight_smile:

As Tom mentioned, remove R1, it is not needed or desired.

You can limit the effective maximum voltage being applied to the motor by limiting the maximum PWM duty cycle. If you have a 12 volt supply and a 6 volt motor, limiting the PWM value to a maximum of 50% limits the effective applied voltage to 50% of the supply. Here is an example sketch that sets motor speed from a potentiometer connected to analog input A0. Note the call to the "map()" function:

motorSpeed = map(potVal, 0, 1023, 0, [color=red]127[/color]);

Normally, the value in red would be 255 which limits the motor PWM value to its maximum of 100%. In your case, we change it to be 50% of maximum which would limit your maximum motor voltage to 6 volts.

const int motor = 3;
const int potPin = A0;

int potVal;
int motorSpeed;

void setup() {
  pinMode(potPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(motor, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  potVal = analogRead(potPin);
  motorSpeed = map(potVal, 0, 1023, 0, 127);