DC power supply for mystery motor

Hello forum!

I'm brand new to the Arduino working on my first project. I purchased an Arduino Mega 2560. I have a DC motor that I hacked from a Black & Decker Autotape (http://www.amazon.com/Black-Decker-ATM100-25-Foot-Measure/dp/B0002TG1GG). I plan to use 22 of these motors in my project (a sculpture) but only one will ever be powered at any one time.

I am assuming this motor is 6V because it is powered by 4 AAA batteries. Is that a safe assumption? I need to replace the battery packs with a wall wart. Ideally I could use the 5V power on my Arduino (the motors run too fast at 6V anyhow), but everything I've read has said to not use the Arduino to power DC motors. Is that correct, or does it really depend on the motor? Could I get away with using my Arduino to power these motors (again, only one at a time)?

Assuming I need to purchase a separate wall wart to power my motors, how do I know what to buy? I'm guessing 6V, but have no idea what amperage I'll need. Anyway to figure that out? If I do end up purchasing a separate wall wart for the motors, how do I connect it to my bread board? All the tutorials seem to gloss over this aspect and I'm stumped. I'm guessing there's some sort of jack I can purchase that will plug into the power supply and have two wires coming from it but any direction here would be much appreciate as well.

Sorry for the long post, my questions in summary are as follows:

• Is it safe to assume a small DC motor that runs on 4 AAA batteries is 6V?
  • Can I run a small 6V motor off of my Arduino's 5V power if I'm okay with lower speeds?
  • What kind of wall wart should I buy to power the motors from the Autotape?
  • How do I connect the wall wart to my breadboard?

Many thanks for your time and kindness! Mike

You can’t power a motor directly by connecting it to an arduino pin. You need to use a transistor to act as a switch, look at this:-
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Workshop/Motors_1.html