Dealing with a lot of data in Arduino...?

Hello all,
Like many that post here, I am new to the Arduino platform and programming micro-controllers in general (I’ve really only done numerical analysis in MATLAB). I’m working on a project that requires me to collect a lot of data, and then subsequently perform analysis in MATLAB. I have a simple (?) but pretty bad problem with my program though: I’m unable to actually collect all the data I need at my desired sampling rate.

In the following code, I’m controlling the ADC (I’m not using the analogRead() function because I found that it was too slow) to make measurements from 3 different sensors. However, in my final program it might end up being more than 3. I only made this code for this post, so that it is easy for everyone to absorb the problem. I am making a measurement every 5 milliseconds (200 Hz sampling rate). What I want to do here is somehow the keep all the data until 10 seconds pass, and then print it to the serial board. It has to print to the serial board because that’s how I’m transferring everything into MATLAB. I asked some friends of mine and a few said that this should be possible, and suggested I post on the Arduino forum for help (I’ve tried to do research on this topic, but surprisingly, haven’t found a lot of people that have encountered a similar issue). Note that I have found that reading and printing as the program goes slows it down for my purposes, which is why I must only save or somehow keep the data, and then print everything to the serial board at the end (after 10 seconds).

Here is the code:

volatile int aval = 0;      // analog value
unsigned long timerInterval= 5; //basically the sampling rate, i.e., make a measurement every 5 milliseconds (sampling rate 200 Hz)
unsigned long previousTimerMillis = 0;
unsigned long currentMillis = 0; 

void setup() { 
  DIDR0 = 0x3F;            // digital inputs disabled
  ADMUX = 0x40;            // measuring on ADC, use the internal 1.1 reference