Debounce on an external interrupt.

OK, be gentle, I'm completely new to electronics and microcontrollers. :)

I've followed the example for Debounce, and it works just fine. But what my project needs is to count the number of times an external interrupt is triggered. I set up my sketch to simply increment a counter each time the interrupt was triggered, (testing with a push button - will switch to photo-interrupter for actual project), and in the main loop send this counter out to the serial port when it changes. This should give me a reading that increments by 1 each time the button is pushed, but it varies. Sometimes it gives two counts per push, sometimes the interval is greater than 1, etc. My assumption is that I have bounce, but since millis() doesn't work in an interrupt function, I don't know how to cure this.

Will a photo-interrupter suffer the same bounce issues as a simple push button?

Hi Dave,

You should be ok with a photo-interrupter, give it a try. In the unlikely event that it does bounce there are some hardware things you can do, but I would expect you won't need to resort to that.

Thanks mem! Unfortunately I have to wait for my photo-interrupter to arrive, and I'm impatient! :(

What kind of hardware things are you suggesting? Simple components, or an extra IC kinda thing? Just curious, and trying to expand my limited knowledge. :)

Dave–

If you called it prudently, why wouldn’t millis() work in an interrupt handler? I can certainly see how you would want to avoid a call to delay() or repeated calls to millis(), but it seems to me that code like this would work:

void my_interrupt()
{
  static unsigned long last_millis = 0;
  unsigned long m = millis();
  if (m - last_millis < 200)
   { // ignore interrupt: probably a bounce problem }
  else
   { // do pushbutton stuff }
  last_millis = m;
}