Decent segment and keypad basic

Hello

I am new to arduino and have just bought an uno r3 and accessories. I'd like to make a simple 4 digit seven segment display and be able to input numbers from a keypad.

Now the questions I have are.

1. Is this possible?
  2. Can anyone help me get started?
  3. Am I kidding myself that I'll even be able to grasp this as a first project?

Any help would be very much appreciated as I'm enthusiastic about getting stuck in but real don't know anything at this point.

Thanks a lot in advance
Mike

Hi,

1. Yes
  2. Yes
  3. Depends what other electronics/programming experience you have.

I guess you would call this an intermediate level project in Arduino terms. If you have no other relevant experience, you shold definitely start with somethig simpler like single leds and single pushbuttons.

Paul

I would suggest that you break this down into a number of smaller projects like:

1. Get a LED to work.
  2. Get a single 7 segment display to work.
  3. Get more then one display to work
  4. Understand how to read a switch into an input
  5. How to use the keypad (read the value and write to serial monitor)

At this point you will have everything you need to be able to use a keypad to write digits to the display.

All the smaller steps have a lot of information available just through internet searches.

Thanks for the responses guys.

I have a good basic electronics knowledge I've build small projects in the past mainly led based.

I've spent the last day or so just figuring out the segments and pins etc. and I've done a small led project test.

I've searched, read, and watched a good few very informative tutorials. So I think I just need a start point in the actual circuit set up. Then I think I will be on my way. Even if it's just a sigle segment for now.