Dedicated to my underrated D13...or maybe not?

Hi,

(Warning! I am relatively new to Arduino...:wink: )

On most boards D13 is hardwired to an onboard LED to make
first steps and checks easier.

Without using my soldering iron and without altering the original
hardware setup:
Is it possible to use D13 for anything (external) else and neither
kill the GPIO due to draw to much current nor get random effects
due to the fact that the LED is evesdropping the line from and to
D13?

Thank you very much in advance for any help!
Best regards,
mcc

The LED is not connected directly to D13. D13 is monitored by an op-amp, an LMV358, which controls the LED.
I avoid using it as an input, but it’s fine to use as an output and behaves normally.
Edit: I should add, it’s probably OK as an input too, but I’ve never used it.

See the attached UNO R3 schematic. The op-amp is U5B.

Arduino_Uno_Rev3-schematic.pdf (81.4 KB)

Hi OldSteve,

thanks for your reply, help and the schematics.

That's a really nice setup this way with an OpAmp.

Unfortunately (in this case) I have an Pro mini from
a different seller (I try to avoid the work "clone","knock-off"
or such, since it is OSH - so nothing bad at all with this).

I took a closer look onto the board and cannot find anything,
which may be a OpAmp.
I think it is simply this way D13*---R---LED---*GND.

Is there any non-destructive way to check, whether D13 can
still be used for GPIO purposes?

Best regards,
mcc

mcc01:
I think it is simply this way D13*—RLED—*GND.

I was assuming an UNO or Mega2560.
Just looking at my Pro-Mini schematic, D13 does connect directly to the LED/resistor combo.
You should have mentiond it was a Pro-Mini originally, (and I should have asked).