Define slave variables inside void loop

Hi,

I have a master-slave communication between two Arduino Mega boards (through i2C). The master sends a command to the slave in order to perform a given tasks. The system works when I open the Serial Monitor window from both Arduino boards (the variables are defined above void setup()). I mean, I open two Arduino IDE instances with their respective COM acquiring the data from USB cables. However, if I unplug the slave from the PC, while the master still is connected to the PC, the system does not work.

I could move most part of the initialization and void setup at the slave, inside the void loop(). However, the function which allows the reception of data from the master, gives me errors.

void setup() {

}

void loop() {

const int STOP  = 13; //STOP of the RX module
  const int CLAX = 12; //CLAX of the RX module
  const int START = 11; //START of the RX module
  const int LAMP = 10; //LAMP of the RX module

#define ArrayElementCount(x) (sizeof(x) / sizeof(x[0]))
#include <Wire.h>
#include <hd44780.h>                       // main hd44780 header
#include <hd44780ioClass/hd44780_I2Cexp.h> // i2c expander i/o class header
  hd44780_I2Cexp lcd; // declare lcd object: auto locate & auto config expander chip

Wire.begin (MY_ADDRESS);
  lcd.begin(20, 4);
  Serial.begin (9600);
  Serial1.begin (9600);
  Wire.onReceive(receiveEvent);
  lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
  pinMode(STOP, INPUT_PULLUP); digitalWrite(STOP, HIGH);

if (flag == 1)
  {
  }
}

void receiveEvent(int howMany) 
{
  int y = Wire.read();
  int flag = 1;
  Serial.println(y);
}

My goal is to acquire all data just plugging the master to the pc uniquely (keeping the i2C communication with the slave). Which is the best approach to do that?

If you need additional information, I can add it.

Thanks

I can not imagine what putting all the stuff that is supposed to be before setup() or loop() into loop() is supposed to accomplish. Please explain WHY you are trying to do that.