Definition of uint8_t

I would expect uint8_t to be typedefed to unsigned char. However in stdint.h it appears that this is the case only if DOXYGEN is defined.

Otherwise it is defined:
typedef int int8_t attribute((mode(QI)));
which will make it a 16 bit quantity.

If it is any help I am using Eclipse.

Sorry if this has been asked before but I am new to Arduino and could not find any previous explanation.

Otherwise it is defined:
typedef int int8_t attribute((mode(QI)));

Nope, wrong line: typedef unsigned int uint8_t __attribute__((__mode__(__QI__)));

An integer with no specified size is compiler specific on its actual size. By default it's "short int" on avr-gcc. However, the attribute((mode(..))) entry specifies a size:

QI: An integer that is as wide as the smallest addressable unit, usually 8 bits.
HI: An integer, twice as wide as a QI mode integer, usually 16 bits.
SI: An integer, four times as wide as a QI mode integer, usually 32 bits.
DI: An integer, eight times as wide as a QI mode integer, usually 64 bits.
SF: A floating point value, as wide as a SI mode integer, usually 32 bits.
DF: A floating point value, as wide as a DI mode integer, usually 64 bits.

So with QI in there it's 8 bits.

You can think of it as seen from a 32-bit perspective -
Quarter Int
Half Int
Single Int
Double Int
Single Float
Double Float

However, the attribute((mode(..))) entry specifies a size:
That explains it. I clearly need to get to grips with gcc (or g++). Where is the best place to look?

Roger_Woollett:

However, the attribute((mode(..))) entry specifies a size:
That explains it. I clearly need to get to grips with gcc (or g++). Where is the best place to look?

The GCC manuals are at GCC online documentation - GNU Project.