delay function question

Hello everyone,

I'm using the delay function to create a timer, for 12 hours. I'm new to programming and new to C++, but I would like to display this delay but also display the count down of the delay. so If I have 12 hours of delay I would like my delay function to count every second down to 0. After 0 it would move on.

I'm not sure how to go about doing this or if this can even be done in c++.

Let me know what you are thinking, I'm open to changing my code to use a library if you feel that would be a better way to go about it.

Thank you for your time,
Joe

What is this project for?

Use CTRL T to format your code.
Attach your complete sketch between code tags
[code]Paste your sketch here[/code]

Don’t use delay() as it freezes normal code from executing.

Study this, Several things at the same time.

larryd:
What is this project for?

Good Afternoon Larryd, thank you for getting back to me I was away from my computer all week, but the project will be used for a plant timer, that will have a relay run a light for 12 hours so my plants can get good the right sunlight.

I looked at the blink without delay. I feel I understand the function but it isn’t working for me I don’t understand why

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <potentiometer.h>
#include <OLED.h>
#include <rtc.h>
//#include <LED.h>
#include <wire.h>
//*****************************************Declare*****************************//
// Function prototyping
const int timer12 = 13; // setting timer to ditigal pin 13 for LED example
void setup();
int replaystate = LOW;            // a state for the relay
unsigned long previousMillis = 0; // stores last updated vaule of relay
const long interval12 = 2000;

void timer();
//*****************************************Declare*****************************//
//******************************************Main******************************//

int main()
{

Potentiometer PotentiometerO;
 OLED OLEDO;
 OLEDO.intdisplay();
 displaytime();
 //ledblink();