Delay question

Hi I am very new in programming for the arduino and I’ve come across something wired. my code explains it more but here is an explanation any way :}.

Well my program turns a led on and off with the pc. So while programming I put text in certain spots to see what the program was doing and when I got everything working I removed it but when I run the program it does nothing. So after some debugging I found out that a delay on 2 different spots lets the program work. But why do I need to put them in there ?

Here is code:

int command[20];
int number = 0;
int ledPin = 13;

void setup() {
      Serial.begin(9600);
        pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);     
}

void loop() {
      if (Serial.available() > 0) {
            command[number] = Serial.read();
                delay(1);                      // why does it lock up if i dont put this in here?
                number++;
        }
        else
        {
           int t = ArraySize(command);
           if (t > 0)
           {
               int count = 0;
               for (int i = 0; i < t; i++)
               {
                 count = count + command[i];
                 command[i] = NULL;
               }
               delay(2);                        // why does it lock up if i dont put this in here?
               if (count == 221) // on
               {
                 On();
               } 
               if (count == 315) // off
               {
                 Off();
               }
           }
           number = 0;
        }
}

void On()
{
        Serial.println("The led is on.");
        digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
}

void Off()
{
        Serial.println("The led is off.");
        digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
}

int ArraySize(int array[])
{
        int i = 0;
        while(array[i] != NULL) i++;
        return i;
}