delayMicroseconds values

Hello Group, I am new to this and a total amateur when it comes to Arduino processors. I am trying to use a A4988 Stepper Driver. to operate a telescope drive. I have it now to the point of rotating the scope to within 18 seconds error per day. (23h56m04seconds)by changing the micro second on time plus or minus 1 microsecond, between 799 and 800 time base. I obtain a speed accuracy of plus or minus 18 seconds which is ok for time exposure photography but id like to get it tighter if I can. Can I use fractional values, ie 799.75 as the processor clock speed of the uno is 16MHZ I am wondering if this might work. With PLCS I could use a scan counter eg ( reg4086 plus one to reg4086. when count equals 69,450 move 0 to reg4086 and pulse output.)
I put in a value tonight of 799.75 and it did compile and load, but I don't know if it will actually lengthen the pulse by .75 microseconds or not.
comments will be appreciated
Thanks Joe

When using an Arduino for timing, be aware of a few things regarding getting an affordable product to market. The operative word here is affordable. Just as when you by resistors, you can specify 5, 10 or even 20% tolerance and pay accordingly. Dig deeper into your pocket and you can get 1% and even 0.1% (add the zero you took off to the price).

Most of my 'cheap' Arduinos have had their 16MHz clocks timed to be 15.88 MHz. This is well within spec as laid out by our friends in Italy, but will wreck havoc with any app that relies on precise timing. There are several options. One is to scope your board and get the true freq of the system clock and work this into your calculations along with compensation for temperature swings over the period of a day. The other is to invest a small amount in an RTC. There are RTCs available with accuracy as high as 4 seconds per month I read. Another option is a small GPS module that continues to receive network time 24/7. I use the GPS and can resync my timing every second.