Delays without delay [solved]

Hi guys

I am new to this whole coding thing but I have an application where it comes in handy.

I have a welder without gas feed control.

I want to have a push button which opens a NC solenoid valve. But when I let go of the button I want the valve to keep open for like a second or so.

I have tried the delay function but realised that it will also take a second to open the valve then.

I have looked at millis but haven't got it to work.

Hope you will help eventhough it's proberly obviously how it's done.

Thanks in advance

Have a look at Timer libraries pulse function.

Hi Sony

I just looked at it. Do you have an example of how the code could look like? I can't get it to work.

Thanks

Unfortunately I dont have any simple code right now.

Probably you can post your test code and we can take it from there. Please post the code inside code tag.

Hi Sony

I came across this on the forum. It does what I need only in the wrong order. It waits 0,5 seconds before switching on. Can I modify this so it waits before switching off?

void setup()
{
 pinMode(10, INPUT); // button
 pinMode(11, OUTPUT); // LED
 digitalWrite(11, LOW);
}

int pinState = HIGH;
const int x = 500; // 500ms delay

void loop()
{
 int newState = digitalRead(10);
 if (pinState != newState) // button state differs from last recorded state?
 {
   pinState = newState;
   if (pinState == LOW) // button newly pressed?
     delay(x);
   digitalWrite(11, !pinState); // set LED HIGH if button LOW and vice versa
 }
}
   if (pinState == LOW){ // button newly pressed?
      digitalWrite(11, HIGH); // set LED HIGH if button LOW and vice versa[color=#222222][/color]
     delay(x);
     digitalWrite(11, LOW);
    }

If you do the above approach, the pin state will change from HIGH to LOW after 500ms delay.

Hi Sony

My code look like this then.

But it only works if I push the button and release. I need PIN 13 to be on while i hold the button and stay on for 1 second when I release.