Depletion MOSFET

Hello, totally beginner here!
I’m looking for a depletion MOSFET, the idea being to put it to a solar panel, so that when it’s dark current would flow from gate to source allowing a battery to power on the Arduino, and vice-versa.
While reading a datasheet of one (attached), i’m confused: why the 0V line is associated with current, shouldn’t it be 0A as it is a depletion MOSFET? It looks like an enhancement curve to me…

Thanks a lot!

Screenshot from 2020-04-13 15-48-47.png

Current doesn't flow from the gate. Current flows between source and drain. The gate-source voltage
controls the channel width which allows current to flow, but the gate is electrically isolated from the
source and drain.

A depletion mode FET conducts when Vgs = 0V, and requires a gate voltage to reduce the drain current.

For an n-channel depletion mode device the gate voltage has to go negative to reduce the drain current.

Depletion mode MOSFETs a specialty, hard to source likely to go obsolete. All JFETs are depletion mode.

The only difference between enhancement and depletion mode is what the gate threshold voltage is - for
enhancement its above 0V (n-channel), for depletion its below 0V. Threshold voltage is the turn-off point.

Thus the curves are the same, except that the gate voltages are shifted.

Yes i meant voltage would be applied to the gate allowing current to go from drain to source.
Thanks for your recap but still i can't what you said with the graph i posted:

A depletion mode FET conducts when Vgs = 0V, and requires a gate voltage to reduce the drain current.

Then why the 5V VGS curve is above the 0V one on the graph?

Depletion mode MOSFETs a specialty, hard to source likely to go obsolete. All JFETs are depletion mode.

I guess there's an alternative then, what is it?

Thanks again

Ah ok so i checked an enhancement graph and actually numbers are negative so there's something i don't get still, but at least it's logical...