Depth Ultrasonic Water Transducer

Hello Guys.

I'm trying to understand how to read a depth ultrasonic transducer manufactured by Airmar Technologies.

I've the accoustic specifications and wiring diagram and as I'm a beginner (hopefully, not sure if I'm even that) I would like to know if someone can point me out in the right direction.

I understood that I need to send a pulse from the microcontroller to the transducer. The transducer will convert this electrical pulse into an accoustic signal, send it, wait for the echo, measure the time elapsed and send back a pulse to the microcontroller.

Is this correct?

Also, the transducer has 3 wires. 1 GND / 1 +5V / Shield.

What I understood is that I have to send a pulse and read back with PulseIn the pulse response. How should I connect the wires from the transducer to the arduino uno board? GND to a PWM pin?

Following is the wiring diagram and accoustic specs:

Wiring: http://www.dnsba.com/91-261-rev02a-b.pdf Accoustic specs: http://www.dnsba.com/50-200khz-A-Urethane-200khz.pdf

Thank you!

You're going to need some transmitter and receiver electronics. You will probably need someone with analog electronics to help design a 600 Watt 200 KHz pulse generator. Then you will need a bandpass filter to allow the received signal to be isolated and amplified.

John, is it possible to do that with Arduino Uno?

parturi: John, is it possible to do that with Arduino Uno?

Not without some external electronics. I expect you will need a significant amount of voltage and current to shove 600 Watts through your transducer. You can't just connect it to a 5V Arduino output. The return signal is likely to be quite weak so you will likely need amplification before connecting it to an Arduino input.

John, if I manage to send the 600 Watts pulse to the transducer, why the signal would return weak?

I'm searching for an op-amp, which looks like what I need to increase current.

Thanks for your patience :)