Designing some sort of drawingrobot

Hey
first I`ll explain what I want to acchieve
then I explain what I already have in mind
and I hope that you guys can help me with what I should do.

Before I explain what I want to do I think I should quickly mention that I´m a complete noob in anything programming or Arduino related just so you know where all those questions come from.

What I want to build:
The plan is to build some sort of Polaroid like thing where the machine first takes a picture and then draws it with a pen on a piece of paper.
Here I just want to discuss the drawing part.

What designs I allready thought of:

1. On the internet i already saw a few designs in that fashion:
    Two steppermotorsliders attached to each other to cover the Y and X axes of the paper.
    The pen slides up and down on a seperate motor in order to control weather it is drawing on the paper or not. I attached a simple drawing i did in paint so you get the idea. I think this is propably the easyest design to pull off because many have done something like that before and I can just copy what they did.

2. I also found this online. Two motors control a pen via a two cords. The to be drawn on paperplane is shiftet into a vertical position so the pen is pulled down by gravity. The motors can control where the pen goes by pulling or releasing the string. (again see the attachments). Weather the pen is on the paper or not is again controlled by a third motor. I think this design might be not suitable for the project because dont want the "printer" to rely on gravity.

3. The robotic arm. Again something I saw online. I think the idea i clear: A stationary robotic arm holds a pen and draws the picture. This design might be a bit too difficult for me since I dont have a lot of materials to build such a machinery. Plus I think the code will be a lot harder.