Detect switch to ground

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Arduinos and have limited experience with electronics in general.

I've run into a perplexing challenge. I have an existing switch to ground (automotive) and am trying to use its state on a pin to signal other activity with an Arduino Uno. I have no difficulty with 5V-powered switches, but detecting a closed circuit to ground appears to have bested me.

In the attached circuit (_ground_switch_pnp.jpg), the red area is not accessible (i.e. I can't insert anything between the switch and its connection to ground). Any solution must occur between the switch and the rest of the circuitry.

Code to test is typical for using switches to light up LEDs:

int pinLed      = 4;
int pinSwitch   = 11;
int switchState = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(pinLed, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pinSwitch, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  switchState = digitalRead(pinSwitch);
  if (switchState == HIGH)
    digitalWrite(pinLed, HIGH);
  else
    digitalWrite(pinLed, LOW);
}

I've tried various values for R3, as well as trying to introduce 5V into this arrangement. I also tried inserting a small PNP transistor switched by the ground (as in attached _ground_switch_pnp.jpg). No joy. Yet...

I'd like to keep the parts count down as low as possible.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated.

Dirk

dephwyggl:
Any solution must occur between the switch and the rest of the circuitry.

The "rest of the circuitry"? Are you saying, other than your Arduino, something is connected to the non-ground side of the switch?

I think all you need to do is declare pin 11 as INPUT_PULLUP so it's going to be high until the switch is closed, at which point it will go low. (So you will probably want to reverse your logic in the if, assuming you want the led to be on when the switch is closed.)

pinMode(pinSwitch, INPUT_PULLUP);

You can lose your resistor.

manor_royal: