Detectin LCD ID at Runtime

Hi, I have several LCD 20 x 4 screens. Most of them have 0x27 as the ID, but a few have 0x3f.
Currently I am doing this...

#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h> 
  LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x3f,2,1,0,4,5,6,7,3,POSITIVE);  // Set the LCD I2C address
//  LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x27,2,1,0,4,5,6,7,3,POSITIVE);  // Set the LCD I2C address

But it is a royal pain to try and keep up with what ID is where and remembering to change the REM-line.

I found a very basic code-scanner and it finds the ID just fine, but have no idea how to use it within a Sketch.

Is it possible to reassign the ID before calling "lcd.begin(20,4);" in Setup?

How do I do that?

Sorry for being a bit dense on this but I am quite new to C++ and looking in the wire.h and wire.cpp files is not making it clear to me.

Thanks.

You could use the preprocessor #ifdef at the top of the sketch to enable one of two lines of code depending on what you define.

Is it possible to reassign the ID before calling "lcd.begin(20,4);" in Setup?

No, but you could change the type of lcd, and a bit of code.

LiquidCrystal_I2C *pLCD = NULL;

Then, in setup(), after you have the proper address, in a variable called lcdAddr (or whatever name you like):

pLCD = new LiquidCrystal_I2C(lcdAddr, 2,1,0,4,5,6,7,3,POSITIVE);
   pLCD->begin(20, 4);

All other uses of lcd. would need to change to pLCD->, too.

Awesome, thank you very much PaulS.

Obviously I am assuming that there is only one I2C within the application and that's OK for what I need right now. This will save what little hair I have left.

My code is probably a bit clunky but I have it working. Fortunately all of the calls to print stuff to the LCD are in just a few functions, so changing everything to "pLCD->" was pretty simple.

There are other ways to set the i2c address for the lcd object without using a pointer which would keep from having to mangle up all the existing code.