Detecting if car is incoming or outgoing

Hi, I’m quite new to Arduino but find it quite easy to work with. Today I’m facing a problem : I’d like to detect when a car is incoming or is outgoing into a tunnel. I’m not interested in when the car is present; I only need to activate a digital output when the car goes inside to take it a photo only once and activate another different digital output when the car is outgoing.
My problem is how to trig the 2 outputs “one way” only. I want to use 2 ultrasonic transducers that already own and fixed into a bar of 2 meters long; they can detect from 40 to 500cm and I thought to use the quadrature system used for encoders, but I can’t imagine the code I should write.
Could you help me ?

Thanks.

Overbusy

If you mean one transmitter and one receiver for the 2 ultrasonic transducers, then you can't do it. If you mean two pairs, then you can see which one triggers first (A, then B) to indicate motion from A to B. If it is the other way around (B, then A) then you have motion in the other direction.

You basically have two possible states. Either there is a car or there isn't. If the first sensor is tripped then there is a car and if the second sensor is tripped while there is a car then you go back to no car.

// out at global scope:
boolean carPresent = false;

// somewhere in loop:
if (carPresent == false) {
    if (first sensor is tripped) {
         carPresent = true;
         // whatever else needs to happen when you first detect a car
    }
}
else if(carPresent == true){
    if(second sensor is tripped){
          carPresent = false;
          // whatever else you need to do whenever you first detect the car leaving
    }
}

blh64:
If you mean one transmitter and one receiver for the 2 ultrasonic transducers, then you can't do it. If you mean two pairs, then you can see which one triggers first (A, then B) to indicate motion from A to B. If it is the other way around (B, then A) then you have motion in the other direction.