Detecting Injector pulse without cutting wire?

Hey guys!

I'm attmepting to make a MPGuino like project of my own but design it a little differently.

In order to calculate the MPG of the car I need to measure the injector pulses. I want to do this without having to cut or damage the wire, and I was wondering if it is possible to detect the signal travelling through the wire without phsycially touching the copper together, but using something like an EMF detector.

I'm not a complete novice with electronics... but I am fairly limited with my knowledge. Programming on the other hand is fine.

Any ideas please? Thanks in advance!

You can try using a hall-effect (magnetic flux) sensor. Current through a wire generates a magnetic field. By measuring the magnetic field you should be able to determine if current is flowing.

Do injectors always squirt the same amount of fuel?

I assume they do or this approach won't work, therefore you can also get the RPM from any other source and derive the fuel consumption from that. Or is there only a single injector into a manifold?

Rob

I'll have to look into the Hall-Effect option, thanks :).

And yes, injectors run at a specific pressure which the fuel pump maintains, and injects fuel at a steady rate. The amount of fuel the engine receives depends upon how long the injector is pulsed for (the pulse width) basically.

I can't use the RPM method unfortunately as the fuel flow is determined by throttle position, RPM is directly linked to the road speed and the current gear (e.g. 3000RPM in one gear will be different fuel usage to 3000RPM in another gear, just as 3000RPM whilst accelerating will be more than 3000RPM while cruising).

As far as I can tell, on my engine (1.8l petrol Rover K-Series) there are four injectors, each one operating at 3.5bar pressure. The ecu sends a pulsed signal to them in order to allow fuel through. The pulse width and speed changes dependant on how much fuel is required.