detecting movement versus stillness with accelerom

I'm an arduino beginner so please bear with me...

I want to detect sudden movement with an accelerometer, I'm looking for an 'if' syntax' that will be 'true' ONLY if the accelerometer moves, regardless of the position its in...

I asked this question last week but still haven't found a solution to my problem..

basically, I need to compare readings from the accelerometer to see if they've changed, which would indicate that a movement has occured...

Here's my code (obviously not working)

const int xPin = 2; const int yPin = 3;

const int ledPin = 13; const int threshold = 50;

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); pinMode(xPin, INPUT); pinMode(yPin, INPUT); pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); }

void loop() { // variables to read the pulse widths: int pulseX, pulseY; // variables to contain the resulting accelerations int Old_accelerationX, Old_accelerationY, New_accelerationX, New_accelerationY;

//read pulses from X and Y axis pulseX = pulseIn(xPin, HIGH); pulseY = pulseIn(yPin, HIGH);

//convert pulse width into acceleration Old_accelerationX = ((pulseX / 10) - 500) * 8; Old_accelerationY = ((pulseY / 10) - 500) * 8; //accelerationX2 = ((pulseX / 10) - 400) * 8;

Serial.print(Old_accelerationX); Serial.print("\t"); Serial.print(Old_accelerationY); Serial.println();

delay(100);

//////////////////////////////////////// LED sequence //compare old and new acceleration readings if (Old_accelerationX - New_accelerationX > threshold) { ///turn LED on digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); } else { ///turn LED off digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); }

delay(200); //after delay, store new readings Old_accelerationX = New_accelerationX; Old_accelerationY = New_accelerationY;

}

You're only looking at the accelerometer about 3 times a second. You need to make the 'old' values static or global (or both)

Thanks groove, try not to laugh at me as I ask this, but how would I make them static or global?

Do I simply declare the 'old' above the void setup?