Detecting serial port connection on Leonardo

Dear all,

I would like my Arduino Leonardo self-detect whether it is connected to a serial port (its USB) or not - when it is, it should produce output to the serial terminal; when it isn't, it should ignore the serial output and just care about the electronics connected to the pins. I am only communicating from Arduino to serial, so not the other way around. I would like my code to work on other Arduino boards.

Ok so this is my first attempt at this... Leonardo needs the while(!Serial) {} line in the setup function to wait for serial port response. If I put this line in the code, the Leonardo will lock in its setup function. This can be solved adding a timeout detector, as in:

serialstarttime = millis();
  while (!Serial) {
    if(millis()-serialstarttime > serialtimeout) {
      use_serial = false;
      break;
    }
  }

This is not ideal because the Leonardo is 'weird' about when the serial port is available and when it's not. I did some testing, here is an overview:
(1) If I load the sketch onto the Arduino, without opening the serial monitor, serial is not available;
(2) If I load the sketch onto the Arduino, with the serial monitor open, serial is available;
(3) I cannot open the serial monitor before connecting the Arduino. After connecting, I have 'serialtimeout' milliseconds to re-open the serial monitor. I know that this makes sense given the program, but it complicates things for the user - too much time is not ideal because it puts the leonardo on hold in the cases it is not connected.
(4) If the serial monitor is open, and I press the onboard reset button, serial communication is not available anymore.