Detecting Voltage

I'm wanting to find a simple method for detecting if their is AC voltage. I don't need to know what the voltage is, but looking for a way to detect if anything above 15-20v is present. I've looked into the zmpt101b board, but I really don't need to know what the voltage is.

I do know that main voltage can be dangerous, I'm a licensed electrician, just new to microcontrollers and electronics.

Thank you

If it is 50/60 Hz AC mains, just use a small wall wart transformer, as described here.

What is the maximum voltage which can appear in the circuit you are measuring?
Maybe you can make something with a capacitor, resistor, opto-coupler and a diode, depending on the voltage range.

If you power an electromagnet with AC the field will keep reversing, a Hall Switch can catch that.

Arduino pins are not made to take negative V or more than VCC (5V on some, 3.3V on others).

Or just use a relay powered by the voltage you want to detect

AC should take just how long to burn out a relay?

6v6gt:
What is the maximum voltage which can appear in the circuit you are measuring?
Maybe you can make something with a capacitor, resistor, opto-coupler and a diode, depending on the voltage range.

Maximum of 240v phase to phase (US) at 60Hz.

Don’t really understand goforsmokes post:

Relays With coils for AC voltages are extremely common .
Eg....
https://uk.rs-online.com/mobile/p/non-latching-relays/3949116/

This should work between about 10 and 250 volts. The output at the opto-coupler is inverted. The current at 250 volts is 12mA.
Use an appropriately rated capacitor.

hammy:
Don’t really understand goforsmokes post:

Relays With coils for AC voltages are extremely common .
Eg....
https://uk.rs-online.com/mobile/p/non-latching-relays/3949116/

And how will you detect AC current with one of those? It takes 3A to switch.

A latching relay, the type we mostly use with Arduino would buzz and get HOT in seconds.