Devices to Track Intermittent Movement and Bluetooth (Farm Use)

Howdy, I am new to the Arduino platform and overall new to electronics engineering – my background is purely in software engineering.

I have a project where I need to have some sort of device that can monitor linear movement of an object in a fixed container. Perhaps by the use of some type of magnetic sensor that can trigger when a star wheel (think gear cog) turns.

The controller needs to relay this, ideally via a Bluetooth connection, to an application I would develop.

The complete use scenario of this will be to track intermittent movement cycles (considered a stroke) in a linear path, and calculate the average strokes per minute, and the strokes per complete package.

For more details on specifics, this will be applied to a square hay baler and used to track “strokes” to build bales.

Do you have an image?

Exactly. The question is very much: How to keep track of something physical, what "sensor", or better: what sensing method will work.

You need to tell us more. Else You will be drowning in suggestions based on wild guesses. Your project is different and interesting, not another "how to press a button-project".

I believe some sort of magnetic sensor could work. I will try to get a picture of what I am thinking.

I am not entirely sure what the best method is, but, if we have a metal gear (cog wheel, star wheel) that has a known circumference and evenly spaced cogs, we could put a magnetic sensor in a static position with a nominal physical clearance away from the cogs -- this way as the wheel turns, we have intermittent measurable triggers from the sensor that directly correlate to revolutions, and ultimately distance.

Hopefully that makes some sense.

Not knowing what the arrangement is really suposed to do it's hard to make any suggestions. You have an idea and maybe a lot of components already. If so, put that stuff in work and tell how it's showing up.