DHT11 - RH & Temp reading = -999

Hey :slight_smile:

I’m very new to Arduino (< 1 week) and have never programmed before, so apologies in advance.

Yesterday I set up the DHT11 sensor and I was able to get a reading in IDE, which was great. RH of 59% and temperature of 21 Celsius. Fantastic, it worked! I then tried to get this reading on a 16x2 LCD screen that came with the kit. It didn’t work and I couldn’t figure it out. At first I tried to fix this by changing out the resistor which didn’t work. I decided to start from scratch and this worked. I could get a reading, but both RH and Temperature read as -999.

I tried to get a reading by going back to the original project, using the dht11 and Arduino only, the reading was still -999.

How can I tell if the sensor is working or if it’s something in the code. I have uploaded the DHTlib to IDE. Code for both projects is below. I think I have included everything here, but please let me know if there’s more information required.

Thanks a million :slight_smile:

Code for reading the data in IDE:

#include <dht.h>

dht DHT;

#define DHT11_PIN 7

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  int chk = DHT.read11(DHT11_PIN);
  Serial.print("Temperature = ");
  Serial.println(DHT.temperature);
  Serial.print("Humidity = ");
  Serial.println(DHT.humidity);
  delay(1000);
}

Code for reading the data on an LCD screen;

#include <dht.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);

dht DHT;

#define DHT11_PIN 7

void setup(){
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
}

void loop()
{
  lcd.setCursor(0,0); 
  lcd.print("Temp: ");
  lcd.print(DHT.temperature);
  lcd.print((char)223);
  lcd.print("C");
  lcd.setCursor(0,1);
  lcd.print("Humidity: ");
  lcd.print(DHT.humidity);
  lcd.print("%");
  delay(1000);
}

Are you missing a dht.begin() statement ?

I will try this when I get home :slight_smile: So my code should read like this?

#include <dht.h>

dht DHT;

#define DHT11_PIN 7

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);