Diference between the arduino boards

Hi!

Sorry if this is not the proper section to put my question...

I'm kinda new to the arduino board and I would like to know what is the diference between the arduino duemilanove and the mini arduino.

I've just finished a circuit using the arduino duemilanove to control a dc motor, that reacts to a light sensor. It works perfectly and it is a very simple circuit. And I'm also using a l293D motor driver.

Since the circuit is very simple I think it would be possible to substitute the duemilanove board for a mini arduino... Yet I would like to be sure.

If someone could confirm this to me I would be very thankful

thanx

Check the specifications. If they have the same processor and the same supply voltage (5V or 3.3V), they can be interchanged electrically. If they have the same physical size, you can use the same shields (the connector position of the Arduino of equal size is usually equal). If they have the same USB connector and power plug, you can interchange them. If some connector misses (for example some pro need a USB-to-TTL converter that is already on board the Duemilanove) you need to get it as extra.

If you really want to be certain, download the circuit of the two you're interested and check the parts important to you. The circuit itself is quite simple and easy to follow.

Korman

If you want to see what all of the boards have, see this page:

http://www.duinoaday.co.uk/hardware.html

Mowcius

Hey Mowcius,

Great job with that list of Arduino hardware. You must be rather obsessive to do something like that, I have no idea why you’d go to so much trouble :wink:

Any chance you could add the TwentyTen to the list? To make it easy, here are the details in the same format you’ve used. As close as I could get in text, anyway:

Freetronics TwentyTen

Direct equivalent to the ‘standard size’ USB Arduino board
Shield compatible.
Through hole ATmega chip (can be easily replaced).
Automatic input power selection.