Difficulty coding for motor control

I’m a novice learning on the fly and I’ve been reading as much as my brain can absorb but I’m completely flummoxed. I’m trying to control a conveyor’s position by moving a pulley, based on and average value from an analog sensor. My first headache involved “negative” values of an unknown origin that were mucking up my control comparisons but I reluctantly used absolute values and some floats to get rid of that. My control values are nice and stable now but I cant get the conditional outputs for the stepper motor to work. It always executes the “else if” part of the logic, regardless of the relationship between the process value and the set-point, so the motor only goes one direction. I’m probably doing something remedially stupid but I can’t find it. I’ve attached the code. Admittedly, I’m a little lazy with annotations but it should be pretty straightforward. I’d appreciate any guidance that I can get but please try to contain the impulses to heap abuse: I’m already feeling plenty stupid.

Thanks,

conveyor.txt (2.44 KB)

#include <Stepper.h>

const int ppr = 100; // pulses per revolution
const int numReadings = 50;
const float setpoint = 2.2500;
Stepper myStepper(ppr, 4, 5, 6, 7);

int readings[numReadings];      // the readings from the analog input
int readIndex = 0;              // the index of the current reading
int total = 0;                  // the running total
int average = 0;                // the average
int inputPin = A8;
int sensorValue = analogRead(A8);

float averageVoltage = average * (5.000 / 1023.00);
unsigned long previousMillis1 = 0;
long interval1 = 500;
unsigned long previousMillis2 = 0;
long interval2 = 48000;

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication with computer:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  myStepper.setSpeed(60);
  // initialize all the readings to 0:
  for (int thisReading = 0; thisReading < numReadings; thisReading++) {
    readings[thisReading] = 0;
  }
}

void loop() {